latest reviews

10/31/2010 GMC H-80 - 22316 reads
06/05/2010 MSI GT640X - Gaming Laptop Review 24279 reads
05/25/2010 GMC Bulldozer R4 - Computer Case Review?! 29654 reads
01/27/2010 Razer Megasoma A Gaming Mouse Mat Review 23021 reads
01/12/2010 Razer Naga - A MMO Mouse Review 23139 reads
11/25/2009 Edimax BR-6226n Wireless Router Review 29615 reads
11/23/2009 Razer Megalodon - 7.1 Channel Headset Review 23697 reads

most read reviews

Home arrow Reviews arrow Preview - Nvidia GeForce 3D Vision
Preview - Nvidia GeForce 3D Vision Print E-mail
Written by Stuyo   
Thursday, 23 April 2009
 

Our friends from NVidia invited us to present thoroughly their new product, which will be available in stores pretty soon their 3D glasses GeForce 3D Vision. In the pas we have seen such products, but these rely on much more logical approach. Today we will tell about our meeting and what exactly we saw there.

In the presenter room there was only 2 posters, showing on the whole the new concept of the company to advertise products, which are not graphical processors. In near future we expect much more products from NVidia, which are NOT video controllers.

On the table stood the demo PC, which looked pretty modest, but the real important sat on it and waited to show its potential on the somewhat petty 22 monitor (as the presenter said it is much more easier to carry around on presentations):

The following pictures are of the packaging of the product itself. We must state that this is the first retail issue ever created. When you open the front cover of the box a holographic picture awaits there (regretfully you cannot see that on the pictures), which right away suggests thoughts what you will see with these glasses

After we open the box we see 2 smaller ones and their contents is marked in very interesting way completely in line with the products concept:

Naturally the set contains a cleaning cloth and carrying bag for the glasses:

When we mentioned glasses, here is GeForce 3D Vision itself. You can see on the pictures also the controller, which operates them. It is charged via USB, there is a sync button and so on and so forth:

This is the control panel which connects wirelessly to the glasses, in the front there is a button to switch the 3D function on and off, as well as it sets the depth of the visible field (DOF):

At the presentation we saw numerous games: Gears of War, Age of Empires 4, World of Warcraft, Call of Duty 4, Need for Speed: Unleashed, Tomb Raider Chronicles, FarCry 2, as well as some others. The complete list of supported games up to this time is very long. On the whole you cannot get the right impression from the pictures, but using these glasses leads to completely different experience from games even if you are bored with them, the new vision and perspective will drive you to dust up the box and play some more again. Here is how AOE 3 looks to the naked eye:

We must say a few word about the technology that drives these contraptions. On the whlo the basic idea is that the two spectacles are polarized, but every single one polarizes the light different from the other and the two of them together with the computer are synchronized. Apart from that the monitor must support minimum 120Hz, divided to 60Hz for every eye, which after all gives effective refresh rate of 60Hz. This separate polarization enables every eye to see differently. The video controller itself renders every cadre twice and displaces them one from another. Precisely here comes into play the DOF (depth of /visible/ field) with the potentiometer on the back of the controller you set the displacement and respectfully the depth at which the object is displayed. For example, in the shown AoE menu, due to the fact that these are numerous buildings every single one of them places at different depth, it truly looks like you are watching live city picture. It is very hard to describe the exact experience, but definitely if you have the opportunity you have to check it for yourself you wont be disappointed.

We also watched some 3D movies. There the DOF cannot be changed, it is set when the movie was made. But in reality, when the exact picture is good, the movie looks pretty real.

And at the end lets talk some about prices. The glasses themselves cost $199. This is not very much, but the problem comes from the fact that you need special LCD monitor. It is not so special but must support 120Hz (with less it is too tiresome to play with the glasses, as wel as very unhealthy). The manufacturers refused to make such monitors for long time, but during the last year they gathered up speed, frankly speaking during this year it is quite possible to find these monitors in many homes in our country. The price of such display at the moment is about $299, which makes almost $500 for the whole set the price you will have to pay if you want to enjoy NVidias revision of home 3D.

If you would like to learn more for the technology, here is the original documentation from the NVidia site: GeForce 3D Vision

Author: Stoyan Pamukchiev, a.k.a Stuyo

Comments and questions in our forum: HERE .





Facebook!Slashdot!Free social bookmarking plugins and extensions for Joomla! websites!